Close

Your shopping cart is empty

UG: Everything about the entrepreneurial company

The UG is a very popular legal form for founders and start-ups because the financial entry hurdle is so low

Simple. Secured. Digital

We are the first digital start-up platform to support you with your start-up.

Simple

SIMPLE

No additional costs for you and your company

Secured

SECURE

Developed and operated in Germany for maximum safety

Digital

DIGITAL

Your one-stop solution to self-employment. And 100% DIGITAL

FAQ

Why found a UG (haftungsbeschränkt)?

Checkmark

Founding a UG (haftungsbeschränkt) is particularly suitable for young companies. This is because 1 euro is theoretically enough for the share capital. If you don't want to be liable with your private assets but don't have the start-up capital for another limited company, a UG (haftungsbeschränkt) is a good choice. Unlike a sole proprietorship, liability is limited here and private assets are protected. In practice, however, there are also many arguments against setting up a UG (haftungsbeschränkt), as it often makes more sense to set up a GmbH. Individual advice should be sought here.

What does UG (haftungsbeschränkt) mean?

Checkmark

The legal form UG (haftungsbeschränkt) means that the founders are not liable with their private assets if the company gets into financial difficulties. The legal form must be indicated on all business documents, for example in e-mails, letters and invoices as well as in the website imprint. This is required so that other companies and customers can see at a glance that the company's liability is limited. The UG (haftungsbeschränkt) is less highly regarded by banks and investors and in business transactions than other corporations.

What do you need to set up a UG (haftungsbeschränkt)?

Checkmark

It doesn't take much to set up a UG (haftungsbeschränkt). In addition to a company name and a business address, a business account is required to pay in the share capital. First, a shareholders' agreement is drawn up and notarised by a notary. Then you have to open the business account and pay in the share capital. The notary registers the UG (haftungsbeschränkt) in the commercial register once the share capital (at least EUR 1) has been paid in. The UG (haftungsbeschränkt) is then registered with the trade office and tax office before it can start its business activities.

What is the difference between a GmbH and a UG (haftungsbeschränkt)?

Checkmark

The biggest difference between a UG (haftungsbeschränkt) and a GmbH is the amount of share capital required to set up the company. A GmbH requires 25,000 euros in share capital, half of which must be paid in when the company is founded. In the case of the UG (haftungsbeschränkt), on the other hand, EUR 1 is sufficient as share capital, provided the capital requirement does not necessitate a higher sum. In the case of a UG (haftungsbeschränkt), reserves must be formed from profits which may not be distributed to the shareholders. In addition, the UG (haftungsbeschränkt) can also consider increasing its capital and changing its name to a GmbH. Otherwise, the UG (haftungsbeschränkt) has the same rights and obligations as a GmbH in terms of shareholder, accounting and liability requirements. The UG (haftungsbeschränkt) must also pay corporation tax and trade tax in the same way as the GmbH.

What kind of legal form is the UG (haftungsbeschränkt)?

Checkmark

The UG (haftungsbeschränkt) is a corporation and, strictly speaking, a GmbH with special characteristics, so it is not actually an independent legal form. It is a corporation with its own name (company), which is represented by a managing director. The UG (haftungsbeschränkt) can be founded by one person alone or by several shareholders. Like the GmbH, the UG (haftungsbeschränkt), as its name suggests, is also limited by liability, although the minimum share capital required to establish it is only 1 euro. In most cases, however, a share capital of around 1,000 euros will be used.

What is a UG (haftungsbeschränkt) & Co KG?

Checkmark

A UG (haftungsbeschränkt) & Co KG is a special legal form that is made up of a partnership (KG) and a corporation (UG (haftungsbeschränkt)) and thus combines the advantages of both in one company. The UG (haftungsbeschränkt) & Co KG is ideal for founders who do not want to be liable with their private assets in the event of insolvency and who, for certain reasons, want to operate their company in the legal form of a partnership.

What is a UG (haftungsbeschränkt) simply explained?

Checkmark

UG (haftungsbeschränkt) is the abbreviation for Unternehmergesellschaft and is also known as 1-Euro-GmbH or Mini-GmbH due to its limited liability. The UG (haftungsbeschränkt) is a corporation that is a sub-form of the GmbH. The difference lies in the amount of share capital. This legal form is particularly popular with start-ups and young founders who have very little start-up capital but do not want to become liable with their personal assets. The designation UG is supplemented in the company name by the designation "haftungsbeschränkt". A special form of the UG (haftungsbeschränkt) is the gUG (haftungsbeschränkt) for non-profit companies.

What does it cost to set up a UG (haftungsbeschränkt)?

Checkmark

The formation of a UG (haftungsbeschränkt) is not less expensive than other legal forms. Notary fees and costs for business registration and entry in the commercial register are generally not cheaper than founding a GmbH. However, you can found a company with significantly less share capital. This can theoretically be as little as 1 euro. A UG (haftungsbeschränkt) can be founded with a capital of just 1,000 euros. If it is a one-man UG (haftungsbeschränkt), you can use the so-called model protocol for the formation and save on notary fees again.

Which taxes UG (haftungsbeschränkt) & Co KG?

Checkmark

In the case of a UG (haftungsbeschränkt) & Co KG, only the UG pays 15 percent corporation tax on profits. Added to this is the trade tax. This is paid either by the KG or the UG, depending on which part of the company is responsible for organising the commercial operation. Like other companies, the UG & Co KG must pay 19% VAT on its sales. Wage tax is only payable if employees are permanently employed in the UG & Co KG.

Who may found a UG (haftungsbeschränkt)?

Checkmark

A UG (haftungsbeschränkt) can be founded by one person, but also by two or more persons. Other corporations can also act as shareholders, for example the GmbH. The legal form is most frequently chosen by founders with very little start-up capital and then later changed to a GmbH as turnover increases.

How do I set up a UG (haftungsbeschränkt)?

Checkmark

A UG (haftungsbeschränkt) is founded just as quickly as a GmbH. Once a company name has been found, the articles of association can be concluded and notarised. The UG (haftungsbeschränkt) can be founded by one entrepreneur alone or by two or more shareholders. A business account is then opened and at least EUR 1 of share capital is paid in. The notary then registers the UG (haftungsbeschränkt) with the payment receipt for entry in the commercial register court. In addition to the business registration, the tax registration at the tax office is also carried out before the UG (haftungsbeschränkt) can start its business activities.

Close

Dein Warenkorb ist leer

UG: Alles zur Unternehmergesellschaft

Hier findest Du alle wesentlichen Informationen, die Du benötigst, um die UG zu verstehen und erfolgreich zu gründen. Von den rechtlichen Grundlagen bis hin zu praktischen Schritten zur Umsetzung und Verwaltung einer UG werden wir sämtliche relevanten Aspekte abdecken. Ganz gleich, ob Du ein angehender Gründer bist oder einfach nur mehr über diese flexible Unternehmensform erfahren möchtest – hier bist Du genau richtig. Tauche mit uns ein und erkunde die Welt der UG!

Einfach. Sicher. Digital

Wir sind die erste digitale Gründungsplattform, die dich bei deiner Gründung begleitet.

Einfach

EINFACH

Keine zusätzlich anfallenden Kosten für Dich und Dein Unternehmen

Sicher

SICHER

Entwickelt und betrieben in Deutschland für maximale Sicherheit

Digital

DIGITAL

Deine One-Stop-Lösung in die Selbstständigkeit. Und das 100% DIGITAL

FAQ

Warum UG (haftungsbeschränkt) gründen?

Checkmark

Eine UG (haftungsbeschränkt) zu gründen, kommt besonders für junge Unternehmen infrage. Denn für das Stammkapital reicht theoretisch schon 1 Euro. Wer nicht mit seinem Privatvermögen in Haftung gehen will, aber kein Startkapital für eine andere Kapitalgesellschaft hat, ist mit einer UG (haftungsbeschränkt) gut beraten. Anders als beim Einzelunternehmen ist die Haftung hier beschränkt und das private Vermögen wird geschützt. In der Praxis gibt es aber auch viele Argumente gegen die Gründung einer UG (haftungsbeschränkt), da oftmals die Gründung einer GmbH mehr Sinn macht. Hier sollte man sich individuell beraten lassen.

Was bedeutet UG (haftungsbeschränkt)?

Checkmark

Die Rechtsform UG (haftungsbeschränkt) bedeutet, dass die Gründer bei finanziellen Schwierigkeiten der Firma nicht mit ihrem Privatvermögen haften. Dabei muss die Rechtsform auf allen Geschäftsdokumenten ausgewiesen sein, zum Beispiel in Mails, auf Briefen und Rechnungen sowie im Website-Impressum. Dies ist Vorschrift, damit andere Unternehmen und Kunden auf einen Blick erkennen können, dass das Unternehmen in der Haftung beschränkt ist. Bei Banken und Investoren und im Geschäftsverkehr ist die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) weniger hoch angesehen als andere Kapitalgesellschaften.

Was braucht man, um eine UG (haftungsbeschränkt) zu gründen?

Checkmark

Um eine UG (haftungsbeschränkt) zu gründen, braucht es nicht viel. Neben einem Firmennamen und einer Geschäftsadresse ist noch ein Geschäftskonto zur Einzahlung des Stammkapitals nötig. Zunächst wird ein Gesellschaftervertrag aufgesetzt und durch einen Notar beglaubigt. Dann muss man das Geschäftskonto eröffnen und das Stammkapital einzahlen. Der Notar trägt die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) nach der Einzahlung des Stammkapitals (mindestens 1 Euro) im Handelsregister ein. Danach wird die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) beim Gewerbeamt und Finanzamt angemeldet, bevor sie ihre Geschäftstätigkeit aufnehmen darf.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen GmbH und UG (haftungsbeschränkt)?

Checkmark

Der größte Unterschied zwischen einer UG (haftungsbeschränkt) und einer GmbH ist die Höhe des Stammkapitals, das zur Gründung nötig ist. Bei der GmbH sind 25.000 Euro Stammkapital erforderlich, die Hälfte davon muss schon bei Gründung eingezahlt werden. Bei der UG (haftungsbeschränkt) reicht dagegen schon 1 Euro als Stammkapital, sofern der Kapitalbedarf nicht eine höhere Summe notwendig macht. Bei der UG (haftungsbeschränkt) muss man von Gewinnen Rücklagen bilden, die man nicht an die Gesellschafter ausschütten darf. Zudem kann die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) auch eine Kapitalerhöhung und Umfirmierung in eine GmbH in Erwägung ziehen. Ansonsten hat die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) die gleichen Rechte und Pflichten wie eine GmbH, was die Vorgaben zu Gesellschaftern, Buchhaltung und Haftung betrifft. Die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) muss außerdem ebenso wie die GmbH Körperschaft- und Gewerbesteuer zahlen.

Was ist die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) für eine Rechtsform?

Checkmark

Die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) ist eine Kapitalgesellschaft und streng genommen eine GmbH mit besonderen Eigenschaften, somit also eigentlich keine eigenständige Rechtsform. Sie ist eine Kapitalgesellschaft mit eigenem Namen (Firma), die durch einen Geschäftsführer vertreten wird. Die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) kann von einer Person alleine oder auch von mehreren Gesellschaftern gegründet werden. Wie die GmbH, ist auch die UG (haftungsbeschränkt), wie ihr Name schon sagt, haftungsbeschränkt, allerdings beträgt das Mindeststammkapital zur Gründung hier nur 1 Euro. Meistens wird man aber ein Stammkapital von ca. 1.000 Euro verwenden.

Was ist eine UG (haftungsbeschränkt) & Co KG?

Checkmark

Eine UG (haftungsbeschränkt) & Co KG ist eine Sonderrechtsform, die sich aus der Personengesellschaft (KG) und Kapitalgesellschaft (UG (haftungsbeschränkt)) zusammensetzt und somit die Vorteile beider in einem Unternehmen vereint. Ideal ist die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) & Co KG für Gründer, die im Falle einer Insolvenz nicht mit ihrem Privatvermögen in Haftung gehen wollen und die aus bestimmten Gründen ihr Unternehmen in der Rechtsform einer Personengesellschaft betreiben wollen.

Was ist eine UG (haftungsbeschränkt) einfach erklärt?

Checkmark

UG (haftungsbeschränkt) ist die Abkürzung für Unternehmergesellschaft und wird wegen der beschränkten Haftung auch als 1-Euro-GmbH oder Mini-GmbH bezeichnet. Die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) ist eine Kapitalgesellschaft, die eine Unterform der GmbH darstellt. Der Unterschied liegt in der Höhe des Stammkapitals. Beliebt ist diese Rechtsform vor allem bei Start-ups und jungen Gründern, die über sehr wenig Startkapital verfügen, aber nicht mit ihrem persönlichen Vermögen in Haftung gehen wollen. Die Bezeichnung UG wird im Firmennamen durch die Kennzeichnung „haftungsbeschränkt“ ergänzt. Eine Sonderform der UG (haftungsbeschränkt) ist die gUG (haftungsbeschränkt) für gemeinnützig tätige Firmen.

Was kostet die Gründung einer UG (haftungsbeschränkt)?

Checkmark

Die Gründung einer UG (haftungsbeschränkt) ist im Vergleich zu anderen Rechtsformen nicht günstiger. Notargebühren und Kosten für die Gewerbeanmeldung und den Eintrag ins Handelsregister sind grundsätzlich nicht günstiger als die Gründung einer GmbH. Allerdings darf man mit deutlich weniger Stammkapital gründen. Dieses kann theoretisch auch bei nur 1 Euro liegen. So kann man eine UG (haftungsbeschränkt) bereits mit einem Kapital von 1.000 Euro gründen. Handelt es sich um eine Ein-Mann UG (haftungsbeschränkt), kann man für die Gründung das sogenannte Musterprotokoll verwenden und spart nochmals Notargebühren.

Welche Steuern UG (haftungsbeschränkt) & Co KG?

Checkmark

Bei einer UG (haftungsbeschränkt) & Co KG zahlt nur die UG auf die Gewinne 15 Prozent Körperschaftssteuer. Hinzu kommt die Gewerbesteuer. Diese wird entweder von der KG oder der UG gezahlt, je nachdem, welcher Teil der Gesellschaft für die Organisation des gewerblichen Betriebes zuständig ist. Wie andere Unternehmen auch, muss die UG & Co KG 19 Prozent Umsatzsteuer auf ihre erzielten Umsätze abführen. Lohnsteuer fällt nur an, wenn Mitarbeiter in der UG & Co KG fest angestellt sind.

Wer darf eine UG (haftungsbeschränkt) gründen?

Checkmark

Eine UG (haftungsbeschränkt) kann von einer Person, aber auch von zwei oder mehr Personen gegründet werden. Als Gesellschafter können dabei auch andere Kapitalgesellschaften auftreten, zum Beispiel die GmbH. Am häufigsten wird die Rechtsform von Gründern mit sehr wenig Startkapital gewählt und dann später bei wachsenden Umsätzen durch Kapitalerhöhung zur GmbH umfirmiert.

Wie gründe ich eine UG (haftungsbeschränkt)?

Checkmark

Eine UG (haftungsbeschränkt) ist ähnlich schnell gegründet wie eine GmbH. Ist ein Firmenname gefunden, kann der Gesellschaftsvertrag geschlossen und notariell beurkundet werden. Die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) kann dabei von einem Unternehmer allein oder auch von zwei und mehr Gesellschaftern gegründet werden. Im Anschluss erfolgt die Eröffnung eines Geschäftskontos sowie die Einzahlung von mindestens 1 Euro Stammkapital. Der Notar meldet die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) dann mit dem Einzahlungsbeleg zum Eintrag beim Handelsregistergericht an. Neben der Gewerbeanmeldung erfolgt noch die steuerliche Erfassung beim Finanzamt, bevor die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) ihre Geschäftstätigkeit aufnehmen kann.